1971     The newly organized Pilot Club of Canyon Lake decided to start a library for the community. They continue to support the library today.

1972     The Pilot Club Community Library opened in May in a donated building with donated books and supplies, and all volunteer workers.

1973     Harry Preston, owner of the new Canyon Lake Bank, agreed to give land for a new library building and asked that the library be named in honor of his mother, Tye Preston.

1975     The first Board of Directors of Tye Preston Memorial Library was formed, and the library was incorporated under laws of the State of Texas.
All assets of the Pilot Club Community Library, including $20,000 in funds the Pilot Club had raised for a new building, were transferred to the new Tye Preston Memorial Library.
Louise Jernigan, a retiree of the Library of Congress, became the first library director. She donated her time and talent, never accepting pay for her work.
The Library became a member of the Texas State Library System.

1977     On February 20, the original 1,000 square foot building was dedicated. This area is now used as offices and for operations.

1979     Fund raising for an addition to the already outgrown original building began.

1981     The Friends of Tye Preston Memorial Library, formed to promote the interest and welfare of the library as a cultural and educational asset to the Canyon Lake area, was incorporated.

1983     A 2,500 square foot addition to the building was completed. This area became the main library much as it is today.
Louise Jernigan retired and Danelle Crowley became the first paid librarian.

1987     Dora Hightower replaced Danelle Crowley. Dora was Library Director for fourteen years.

1995     The Pathway of Friends was created by Anna Paula Casey to fund another badly needed addition to the library.  Anna Paula and other volunteers sold engraved bricks and granite blocks that pave the way into the library.  This effort raised over $125,000 and continues to provide funds today.

1997     The Ribbon Cutting for the new 2,500 square foot addition was held on May 31st.  The addition added shelving space to the main library, two new bathrooms, and the meeting room.  The fountain, funded by additional gifts in memory of Anna Paula and Bob Casey’s son, and the new Tye Preston Memorial Library Sign, given by Harry and Frances Preston in memory of their son, were installed.

2000     On January 15th, voters approved creation of The Canyon Lake Community District and elected the first Board of Trustees.  This agency is responsible for management of Tye Preston Memorial Library and is funded by a ½% sales tax collected within the district.

2001     Vicki Partin and Ronnie Nagy became Co-Directors of the library when Dora Hightower resigned.

2002     Hours worked by Volunteers reached 4,000 this year when library hours were extended. Volunteers now save the library almost $50,000 in operating cost each year.
Ronnie Nagy became Director of the library when Vicki Partin returned to teaching. Barron Casteel called in December to say the Casteel family was considering giving the library land for a new building.

2004     On June 25th, the Casteel family presented the Canyon Lake Community Library District with a deed to 6.1 acres of land on the South Access Road at Canyon Lake as the site for a new Tye Preston Memorial Library building.

2006     Brenda Collins became the Director after the death of Ronnie Nagy in 2005. Be a Part of the Story Capital Campaign to build a new library kicks off. 

2008   The Capital Campaign reached over $2.2 million. 

2009     May 17  Groundbreaking

              August   Roxanna Deane became the Director.  Construction began on the new building 

2010    October 9 New building opens