In 1997, the 75th Texas State Legislature passed Senate Bill 1674, relating to the creation, administration, powers, duties, operation, and financing of library districts in Texas. This legislation allows the formation of library taxing districts and permits voters to choose to dedicate a portion of their sales tax revenue to support library services. The provisions of the Library Districts Act are found in Title 10, Local Government Code, Chapter 326.

Supporters of Westbank Community Library introduced the original library district legislation in order to provide an ongoing, substantial source of funding for Westbank Community Library.  By 2005, the number of Library Districts in Texas had grown to fourteen.

On January 15, 2000, voters approved creation of the Canyon Lake Community District and elected the first Board of Trustees.  This agency is responsible for management of Tye Preston Memorial Library and is funded by a ½% sales tax collected within the district.

More information about library districts can be found on the Texas State Library and Archives Commission website.

The Board of the Canyon Lake Community Library District meets on the 4th Tuesday of each month.  The meetings are open to the public.  Agendas are posted one week in advance of the meeting.  Meeting dates may change in November and December.

Local Government Code Section 140.008 requires that beginning with fiscal year 2016, political subdivisions of the state government must compile their debt obligation and post the information on their website.

CLCLD Board Meeting recording available upon request.